Welcome to my "NEW WORLD OF BEING A NANA"

Just a lil' spot to open my heart!




Saturday, June 26, 2010

YouTube Junkie!!

I am not ashamed to admit it........ "I AM A YOUTUBE MAKEUP JUNKIE"

Ever since I left my job to stay home to care for my husband whom is disabled Marine that served in Bosnia, my 19 yr old daughter Alyssa introduced me to the wonderful world of You Tube!

The first makeup Guru I saw was the ever so talented makeup artist Kandee (KandeeJohnson), and then I found the sweet ,beautiful and angelic Sarah (Sardun1) and I was hooked! As I looked over all the girls I noticed how young everyone was, I loved the concept of what they were doing and I thought there has to be women my age who makes videos too that I can relate to as far as ya know, "the start of old age"..(like over 40..ughhhhh) ,  the fine lines, wrinkles, age spots, dry skin and so on, so I started my search then I found the Gorgeous, Funny (the friend in my head) Lana (Lanaindiana) who I adore and Lisa (LisaLisaD1) the southern belle with the sweetest down home personality not to mention the beautiful sexy southern accent.....
My list began to grow (I wish I could name all of the wonderful women & men on my subscription list but there are just too many)  I found I couldn't stop watching them. I was obsessed!!

My husband was always asking what was I doing on the computer & IPhone all the time?? I showed him and he just smiled and rolled his eyes..LOL (hey it wasn't like I was having computer sex! although watching these women was just as good as it could get!)

The more you watch the more you get to know them and it feels like you have made friends with these women who are from all over the world!
Its like sitting down and having a conversation with them except only to listen, they draw you in and it feels like they are just talking to you!
I just cant believe how much time they take out of their day to film and edit their videos! It blows my mind that they are so committed to it and I wonder if they even know how much I enjoy and appreciate all that they do!

I know that no one may even read my lil blog but if there is one woman out there who is looking for something to pass the time and want to learn about all the beauty products out there and get great reviews before buying the products not to mention the great giveaways that they so generously do which are also so much fun then you have to check out You Tube!

Thank you to all of the wonderful men & women out there doing videos & blogs, you really give me something to look forward to each and every day! XOXO

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Giovanni's first day out!



Yesterday was Giovanni's first day out to visit the doctor! Everything went well. His doctor said, "He's perfect!" Hmmm... Just what I thought.

I can't believe how much I love this lil' man and I don't even know him yet!

He is doing so well.. He has already been sleeping through the night (how lucky for Angela!) I don't think my kids slept through the night for what seemed like years to me.. He eats well! and he only cries when hes wet or poopie! How much better can a baby at 8 days old be?

Thank you GOD for giving me yet again another lil' miracle in my life!

Sunday, March 14, 2010

I'm officially a NANA!!!

One of the GREATEST days of my life was......    
2:06 P.M.   MARCH 8, 2010 !!

What a day! 

It all started at 3:12 in the morning when my daughter (Angela) called me and said, "Mom I think my water broke! I'm on my way to the hospital meet me there! "

I jumped outa bed got dressed, brushed my teeth ,washed my face,(No Makeup!!!) ran into my youngest daughter's(Alyssa) room and grabbed her arm gave it a good shake and said, " You have to wake up! We're gonna have a baby! Alyssa jumped up got dressed and we were out the door!
It's now 3:45 and I'm driving like a bat outa hell to get to the hospital! Little did I know (or should I say forgot since I do remember doing this 18 years ago)  I was rushing for no reason.. Hell I had time to put makeup on! We had a long day ahead of us...

We made it up to the room (only 2 people at a time so we had a lot of rotations going on in that room!)
Angie was having contractions every 4 minutes and the nursing staff was actually considering sending her home!! WHAT...
There is no way they are sending my child home!! She's in LABOR for GOD'S sake.. I don't care what your tests say... Needless to say she stayed!!! *Thank GOD*
So here we go..... its official ...I'm going to meet my Grandson SOON.....

They had to give her pitocin to speed up her labor which in turn made her contractions stronger so after a few minutes she decided it was time for her epidural...
After she was given the epidural it was like the angels were singing!! LaLaLaLaaaa No more pain!!

(If only I had know how wonderful that stuff was I would have taken that myself with all 3 of my kids.. How stupid was I.. I thought I was being superwoman going all natural!! Oh all the PAIN I could have saved myself!)

After that it didn't take long before he was here..The Midwife announced , "It's time to push!!!" Tears started flowing down my face.... OMG my baby girl is having a baby!!!
Phillip ( Giovanni's Daddy) at one side holding one leg and me (Nana) holding the other it was time to push!!!!......

She did GREAT... only 16 minutes of pushing and only 1 F Bomb and he was OUT!!!!

Giovanni Daniel was finally HERE!!!

Watching my daughter hold her son for the first time was a moment in my life I will never forget!!

I have OFFICIALLY BECOME A NANA!!!!!!!


Friday, February 5, 2010

Heartbeats

Well I took my daughter to the OBGYN yesterday.. It was great!!  (31 more days till the due date!)
I know your thinking, "Why would an OBGYN visit be great for you when your not the one preggers!!"
Well Angie gained 6 pounds..(YEAH finally she's gaining some weight!, that's a whole other story) and...
I got to hear my grandson's heartbeat!! Oh what a beautiful sound that is..
Every time I hear that fast lil' beat I get tears in my eyes.. ..   

I will never forget the first visit she had......

We go to the doctors and mind you it's almost all the doctors that I know and have worked with over the years..
She gets in a room and of course she wants me in there with her.. (Woo Hoo, I'm so excited she wants to share her experience with me)
The doctor walks into the room with a big smile on his face and a happy attitude and I realize it's this "HOT" OBGYN that I used to work with.. He looks at me and recognizes me.. I'm thinking this is great! She has one of the best doctors to deliver her baby!!! Not to mention a good looking one (I'm jumping up and down inside)
So she's laying there on the table and he's talking to her and he puts the Lil' machine to her belly to find the heartbeat.. (It took a few minutes but he found it) and we hear it!!! Oh my gosh.. It was the most precious sound, it was so fast!!
OK it's now confirmed that Yes she's pregnant and there really is a lil' one in there!
I start crying (I'm thinking to myself OMG I'm really gonna be a NANA!)and she's laying there with a blank face!! What??
I'm thinking OMG is she in shock or something? Should I shake her? Smack her across the face?? Wake Up!! Show some emotion already!!!!
She has no expression on her face!!! The doctor is looking at me then he looks at her and says, "What do you think?" She shrugs her shoulders, he again looks at me and all I can say think is..  That's all you have to say??? No tears? No excitement?? WOW what an uncomfortable feeling, I'm more excited than she is.. I'm standing there blubbering and she's laying there with a blank face!! I wanted to smack her!! How dare her?? How horrible is that?? You have no feelings for the child growing in your belly??
The doctor was so gracious, he somehow handled the situation to perfection! ( Thank you, Doctor X)

We leave the office and I ask her, "What is wrong with you? Why are you acting like this? Aren't you excited? She replies with the crackle in her voice as if she's about to cry, "I just wanted Phillip to be here!" and the doctor reminded me of Uncle David and it grossed me out!!

OMG that's what all that was about?? Because the father of your baby couldn't be here? I wanted to laugh and cry at the same time,
I wanted to laugh because of the doctor/ Uncle David comment and cry because Phillip couldn't be there and I know how important that day was for her, I know we all want our significant other to be there to hear the heartbeat for the first time..  all I could think was blame it on the HORMONES!!

As a mother we all want to fix and make everything right for our children no matter what age they are but I can't fix that Phillip couldn't there but I'll be damn sure she doesn't go see the "Hot" OBGYN again!!

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Why can't men find anything????

Why is it when something is misplaced a man can't ever find it?? Do they really not know where it is?? Do they not want to look for it??? or do they just want YOU to get it????
I don't think there has ever been a time when my husband has looked for anything that isn't in front of his face!! (UGH.. Errrr...) I tell him exactly where it is and he STILL CAN'T FIND IT!!  
Why is it when we (I) need to find something (O.K  so I'm totally not organized) I have to look everywhere? I could spend half a day looking for paperwork that I havent seen in years, but I look till I find it? I know it's not fun to spend hours on end looking but it's something that MUST be done.. RIGHT.. So why, why, why is it so hard for men to do the same?????
Today I refuse to look for the paperwork that is "exactly" where I told him to look..... Lets see how long it takes him to find it!!!!!

Friday, January 22, 2010

Baby Cake!!!!



So Here's my Baby Cake I made for my daughter's Baby Shower!!  It was my first attempt at making one of these and I think it turned out cute with a lil more practice I think I could perfect this lil' project.
I had alot of fun doing it and I hope she enjoys it as much as I did making it.

I used: 96 diapers
3 different size ribbons
baby shoes
pacifires
socks
teething rings
writs rattles
stuffed musical animal
pizza tray

Total : $ 50.00
Total time to make: 45 minutes

Wondering how my life will change in about 6 weeks




I am about to be a first time grandparent in about 6 weeks from now and I had my first dream about the baby last night and I must say it was one of the happiest dreams I ever remember having.
It made me wonder what my grandson will look like? Will he look anything like he looked in my dream?
I am so excited to meet him. I know this is horriable to say but I feel more excited to meet him than I did with my own children!!
Is it because its been 18 years ago that I had my youngest child and I just forgot the feelings that come with welcoming a new baby? or is it just the feeling a first time grandparent feels??

My daughter has been staying with me for the past week and I've been watching and feeling the baby moving in her belly and it made me realize what a miracle a baby really is... I get into such deep thought when my hand is on her belly feeling his hiccups or feeling him getting comfortable in there (although my daughter Angela says : Hes gonna come out with ADHD the way he's moving around in there) Its just amazing to think I never really thought about it as deeply as I do now. Maybe because I was so young, maybe because I was too worried about the delivery to really think how I do now... So many things are running through my mind with this miracle on the way..
Do other soon to be grandmothers feel this way??

I just know I am ready to meet my GRANDSON!!!!